Solitude

The world is burning,
The anger is churning,
Why can’t i smile today?
Why can’t I go out and play?

I’m running around a circle,
I’m out of breath and purple,
I can’t see the finish line,
Nor those smiles from the starting line

I stand here alone, in a crowd,
Familiar voices, faces around,
Yet strange, unrecognized they are,
Like shadows thrown from far

I hate the world today,
Blame it for tears from yesterday,
I just want to break free,
Stand in the rain, under a tree,

Hold on to myself, in my own arms,
Bring down my walls, cry, disarm,
For a moment truly alone,
Before once more in the midst I’m thrown

– Raziel ©2012
Leave a Reply

