Two sides of a window

Out the windshield stretches
A world of light and noise
Cocooned inside yet bare
I sit lonely in a crowd

Familiar faces, unfamiliar names
Together for but minutes a day
Eyes meet but for a moment
And hasten to look away

Some eyes I wish to see
And some to be seen by
A smile crosses my mind
But the lips don’t oblige

So I walk on by, sit and wait
For tomorrow once more
I shall have these moments
And perhaps a smile to give away

A world honks past at speed
Places they need to be
But I’m in a bus waiting
For wherever it takes me.

I long for the purpose
I see within their speed
I long to know myself
And where I need to be

– Raziel ©2012
Leave a Reply

