Chains

How do people forget the past
How do they move past the pain
I’ve been chained to this wreck’s mast
And all I’ve tried has been in vain

Stretched the chains as far as they’ll go
Let them cut into me even more
Yet for the effort I’ve nothing to show
Except that the bleeding’s worse than before

The longer I fail, the darker it gets
Crashing waters bare their white fangs
The more I fail, the darker I get
Battered hopes bare their bloody hands

This wreck’s all that’s left of me
A temporary island, with a broken mast
I’m a solitary soul in the watery melee
Chained to my dream till the very last

– Raziel ©2015

Leave a Reply

